The Department of Information Technology started its journey in 2000. It is one of the youngest departments of this 70 year old institute. The department has produced excellent IT engineers who are serving in different reputed organizations and pursuing higher studies at Institutes of excellence. The strength of the department has been in its diverse areas of research wherein the remarkable contribution by its faculty members is worth a mention. The faculty has contributed research papers both in Indian as well as International journals. Several research & development projects sponsored by Department of Science and Technology(DST), University Grants Commission(UGC), All India Council of Technical Education(AICTE) etc are running some of which have been successfully completed.

The B.Tech. course is duly approved by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Government of India and the Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal. The duration of study of this course is 4 years (8 semesters) and total intake in each discipline is 40+8 (lateral entry) students. The B.Tech course in Information Technology is NBA accredited.


The institute has recently gained approval from AICTE and affiliation from the West Bengal University of Technology (WBUT) to begin the M. Tech. course in Information Technology from session 2012. The sanctioned intake is of 18 students per batch.


This academic department offers guidance and facilities for Ph.D.programmes.


Dr. Mausumi Maitra
Professor & Head of the Department

Dr. Paramita Dey
Asst. Professor

Mr. Ritwik Mondal
Asst. Professor

Mr. Atanu Pal
Asst. Professor

Mrs. Shyma Mandal
Asst Professor

Mr. Pranay Adak
Asst. Professor

Ms. Maumita Maity
State Aided College Teacher

Ms. Ananya Biswas
State Aided College Teacher

Ms. Bidisha Ghosh
State Aided College Teacher

Mrs. Susmita Samadder
State Aided College Teacher

Mrs. Meenakshi Acharya
State Aided College Teacher

Mr. Sudip Kuila
State Aided College Teacher

Dr. Ryan Saptarshi Ray
State Aided College Teacher


The posts of Technical Assistant of this department are presently lying vacant.