Web Mail



The Department of Computer Science and Engineering, established in the year 2001, is amongst the youngest amongst the three departments of the institute. At present, the department is offering a 4-year B. Tech. course in Computer Science & Engineering, with an intake of 40 students in the first year and 8 more as lateral entry in the second year. As one of the youngest departments, it is reputed for producing the best quality software engineers who serve in leading companies, not only in India but also abroad. The students have an in-depth exposure to computing environment consisting of state-of-the-art machines in different laboratories.

The B.Tech. course is duly approved by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Government of India and the Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal.

Faculty Members

Dr. Kalpana Saha, Asst. Prof and HOD of Computer Sc. & Engg. obtained her BSc (H) in Physics from Calcutta Univ. B.Tech in Instrumentation & Electronics from Jadavpur University & M.E from B.E College( Cal.Univ). She has been teaching software Engg.,Introduction to computing and Principles of Programming language. Shehas recently submitted her work on 3G wireless communications for her Doctoral Thesis.

Mr. Soumit Chowdhury, Asst. Prof, an alumni of this college got his B.Tech degree from Calcutta University & M.Tech in Computer Tech. from Jadavpur University. His teaching area includes Network Services, Java & OOPS, DBMS, Data Compression & Cryptography Distributed system & Advance Java Programming, Distributed database Mgt System. His current Research areas are focused on Data Compression/ Encryption/Encoding Techniques.

Mr. Bimal Pal, Asst. Prof had his B.Sc from Calcutta University followed by AMIE(ECE) and M.Tech(IT) from Bengal Engg & Sc. University. He has been teaching microprocessor, Communication Engg., Digital Signal Processing & Data Communication& Networking. He has long industrial experience in Electronic Industry. His current research interest is in The Fourier Analysis of ECG-Signals using DSP.

Mrs. Sohini Dasgupta, Asst. Prof, had her B.Tech from Burdwan University & M.E from Jadavpur University. She has been teaching DBMS& Operating Systems. Her field of interest includes wireless communication & Grid Computing. She is presently working on Dynamic Development & Configuration of Distributed System.

Mr.Partha Ghosh, Asst. Prof, had his B.Sc (H) from R.K.Mission Vidyamandira , Belur & B.E from Vidyasagar University & M.Tech from Kalyani University. He has been teaching Operating System, Automata, Image Processing& GIS and System Software& Administration. His Current research area is in Identification of Gene Regulatory N/Ws by Strategic Gene Disruption & Gene Expression Data.

Mr. Ranjit Kr. Mandal, Asst. Prof. in CSE Dept obtained her B.Tech in Computer Sc & Engg. from Bengal Engg & Sc. University and M.Tech. in Computer Sc & Engg.from Jadavpur University. He has been teaching Computer Organization & Architecture, Language Processor etc. He has served Jalpaiguri Govt Engg College for seven years and Govt. College of Engg. & Textile Technology, Berhampore for two years.

Mr. Bishwarup Das, Smt. Sucharita Mondal, Mr. Bijoy Kr. Mandal, Smt. Rima Bhowmick, Smt. Pallavi Pine, Smt. Amrita Biswas, Mr. Shahnawaz Shams, Mr. Rajib Biswas and Mr. Aritra Mahapatra are part-time faculty members who are engaged in teaching Computer Science and Engineering based subjects of this college.

Technical Assistant

Mr. Rajib Chakraborty