Web Mail



The Department of Information Technology started its journey in 2000. It is one of the youngest departments of this 70 year old institute. The department has produced excellent IT engineers who are serving in different reputed organizations and pursuing higher studies at Institutes of excellence. The strength of the department has been in its diverse areas of research wherein the remarkable contribution by its faculty members is worth a mention. The faculty has contributed research papers both in Indian as well as International journals. Several research & development projects sponsored by Department of Science and Technology(DST), University Grants Commission(UGC), All India Council of Technical Education(AICTE) etc are running some of which have been successfully completed.

The B.Tech. course is duly approved by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Government of India and the Department of Higher Education, Government of West Bengal. The duration of study of this course is 4 years (8 semesters) and total intake in each discipline is 40+8 (lateral entry) students. The B.Tech course in Information Technology is NBA accredited.


The institute has recently gained approval from AICTE and affiliation from the West Bengal University of Technology (WBUT) to begin the M. Tech. course in Information Technology from session 2012. The sanctioned intake is of 18 students per batch.


This academic department offers guidance and facilites for Ph.D.programmes.

Faculty Members

Dr. Mausumi Maitra, Associate.Prof & Head of the Department, obtained her B.Sc.(H) from Presidency College and B.Tech,M.Tech & PhD. from Institute of Radio Physics & Electronics, Calcutta University. She has been teaching Microprocessor & Micro controller, Communications and Computer Architecture& Organisation. Her current research interest is in VLSI Design & Image Processing. She has successfully completed an AICTE MODROB project for development of VLSI Lab. Presently she also having in her credit two MODROB project of AICTE & one Major Research project of UGC She has worked in CEERI, Pilani as Scientist for more than two years She has also served Kalyani Govt Engg College as Asst of Professor of Electronics & Communication for four year.

Mrs. Paramita Dey, Asst. Prof., obtained her B.Tech from Kalyani Govt. Engg.College & M.Tech from Institute of Radio Physics & Electronics, Calcutta University. She has been teaching Digital Electronics, Data Communications& Networking, Mobile Communication Image Processing etc. Her current research interest is on VLSI design and development of LDMOS through simulation.

Mrs. Somdatta Chakraborty, Asst. Prof, did her B.Tech from Harcourt Butler Technological Institute(HBTI), Kanpur and M.Tech. from Bengal Engineering & Science University,Sibpur. She had also worked in industry before joining in teaching. She has been teaching Image Processing, Web Technology and Multimedia. Her current Research interest is on Hyperspectral Image Processing of Remotely Sensed Images .She has obtained grant from UGC and Dept of Sc.& Tech(DST) to carry out research in the area of Multispectral and Hyperspectral Remote Sensing.

Mr. R. Mondal, Asst. Prof, obtained his B.Tech from Jalpaiguri Govt. Engg. College & M.Tech in IT from Bengal Engg. & Sc. University. He has been teaching computer networking, & Mobile communication. His current Research area is Microarray.

Mr. Atanu Pal, Asst. Prof, obtained his B.Tech from WBUT. He has been teaching Networking, DBMS, Computer Architecture, Software Engg.,Multimedia & Numerical Methods. His current research area is in Computer Network.

Mrs. Shyma Mandal, Asst. Prof, obtained her B.Tech from GCELT under WBUT. She has been teaching Data Structure, Database Mgt., Operation Research, Automata, Computer Sc & Operation Research,Data Mining & Data warehousing. At present her research area is in Wireless Security & related issues. Recently She has completed her M.E from Jadavpur University

Mr. Pranay Adak, Asst. Prof obtained his B.Tech from Kolaghat Engg College under WBUT.He has been Teaching Multimedia, Image Processing, Remote Sensing, GIS, Programming Languages. He is pursuing his M.Tech from Jadavpur University.

Miss. Moumita Maity, Mr. Sudip Kuila, Miss. Shampa Mahato are part-time faculty members who are engaged in teaching Information Technology based subjects of this college.

Technical Assistant

The posts of Technical Assistant of this department are presently lying vacant.